peter11

want to buy house in north cyprus
Hello all
I want to buy house in cyprus and i closed a deal in sweetwaterbay in the north.
I almost paid advance than i heard there are lott of problems with the land in the north.
please if anyone knows anything about it please respons i could not get any good information
Thank you very much
Peter

teosgirl

Hi Peter,

I'm not an expert, but I used to be a member of a TRNC forum which discussed some of the issue regarding property and land ownership. I also lived (and was married) in northern cyprus for 2 years.

There are 3 main categories for title deeds (5 altogether I think) but the three main immovable property deeds are:

1)TMD -Land that was 'gifted' by the new turkish cypriot government in 1974, to anyone who 'assisted' the cause or contributed military skills.

2)exchanged title - property abandoned in the south by fleeing Turkish cypriots was 'valued' by the authorities and the owners were given new properties relating to the value of their former abodes.

3)pre 1974 title - this seems to be 100% safe. It was preowned by a Turkish cypriot and therefore has not been 'stolen' or exchanged (I believe karmi is a great area for pre owned titles)

I'm sure you've heard of the orams case? It's been a long and complex case regarding exchanged land, I'm not sure what the outcome is, something worth googling perhaps.

I have checked and sweetwaterbay properties are built on exchanged land. I would check the current Orams case status and then decide how you'd like to proceed.

It's very important that you do your homework, so that you can enjoy your new home in the TRNC. It's a beautiful place.

good luck,

Charlotte

panther