votes at agm
Does anyone know if you have to have your tapu before you can vote at the AGM,have been told that our developer is going to stop anyone voteing if they do not have there tapu.
thank you Jim.

PASH

votes at agm
I would have said, though i am no expert, if the developer is taking maintenance money from you, then you have the right to vote. If you are not given the right, then do not pay the maintenance charge. They cannot have their cake and eat it!

Last edited:

miela

votes at agm
I think you need the developers Power of Attorney to vote at the AGM. A friend recently had to get the POA of their developer as they don't have their tapu. Hope you get this sorted it is important to be able to vote for what you want especially if you are paying the site fees.

Guz1

votes at agm
Ken (or is it Jim?): This question has been asked a few times in the past and the answer has always been that only registered owners are entitled to vote. An honourable developer would give proxy votes to people who had paid for their properties and were awaiting their tapu.

There are limits to the number of votes any single person (even one who owns multiple properties) can use. There are also limits to the number of proxy votes that can be exercised by a single person.

Last edited:
votes at agm
at the last two AGMs everyone had a vote even if they did not have a tapu(we have are tapu for the last 2 years)it is only this year the developer wants to move the goal posts ,as we want a change in maintenance management which at the moment is the developer!

Guz1

votes at agm
Sorry, just realised that your question is posted in the Legal section of the forum.

Just one comment before I butt out and let the experts answer your questions.........

What happened in the past doesn't count. If the developer is digging in his heels you need to do your sums and see if you can outvote him. Otherwise work out the best deal you can and sit it out until you can count on enough votes.

pebble