TEFL Teaching
Hi There
Have any of you good folk out there on the forum ever taught English in Turkey?
I'm hoping to get some work around the Dalaman area. I was wondering what experiences people have had teaching out there. I have a degree and a TEFL cetificate and would like to teach small groups or classes. That's the plan at least!
Ann

Ms Who

aka Kym Ciftci
TEFL Teaching
Hi Ann,

I took a TEFL course before I came out - I was all set to take off to Istanbul for the winter to do some teaching as there is a lot of work there but I ended up working in an Estate Agents instead! Its still on my list of things to do tho!!

From what I have read, there is a lot of work for English Teachers in Turkey and the pay isnt bad. I was looking at Izmir and Istanbul so I have no idea about Dalaman, sorry.

A really good site to check for information is Daves ESL cafe www.esl.cafe.com

Good luck and Kolay Gelsin :)

KKOB

Completely Chillaxed
TEFL Teaching
I've done some English teaching in local schools and it was a bloody nightmare!!!

The kids are out of control.

It's much better 1 to 1 than in a class.

For example, I was teaching 12 and 13 year olds who had been doing English for 3 years. When they were asked a question they couldn't understand that they were supposed to reply, not REPEAT! LOL

Also, I couldn't understand their English teacher when he spoke to me in English. It turned out that he'd studied English literature at uni for 5 years but had never been outside of Turkey.

Have fun !!! LOL

Serdar

TEFL Teaching
Hi Ann,
You can search your area for language courses and schools. If you can work at a school or a language course for a while, it will be easier for you to have private lessons.