hachris

Teach yourself/Learn... Turkish for a complete beginner..
Hi,

I am trying to find some good Turkish learning package for beginners. I need to see the words, to hear them (pronunciation) and to get English equivalent at the same time. It must run on my Pc and it must be possible to rip it to my MP3 player. Does anybody have a good experience with any product of “my” category of needs? I have found Rosetta Stone's, it’s not cheap but if it worth the money I will buy it. Did anybody try it?

Turkish seems to have a completely different logics and I have to understand what is going on. So I need a good grammar book for beginners – any recommendations? Where should I start.

Grateful for help.
Hana C.

teresa

Free Thinker
BYKI do a free version and bigger one that you can buy to put on your ipod if you think you like it. Basic but helps with vocabulary - try the free download as you have nothing to lose.

Learn 42 languages with free software downloads

Rosetta Stone is supposed to be for beginners and I have used it but I am pleased that I knew some Turkish before using it.

There are lots of books and discs available and a lot of it is to do with personal preference I think.

Good luck with the learning.

Mirazz

I also use Turkishclass, but I prefer livemocha.com

They have two Turkish level courses - 101 and 102. You can read and listen to the correct pronunciation. There is a test at the end of each lesson and you can work at your own pace. I would recommend it.

Nergis-Ece

AKA Danielle
It's not a programme or a course, but for explanations I find learningpracticalturkish.com to be really helpful. If there's anything you get stuck with or need an explanation for, this site is almost guaranteed to be of some help :)

BYKI do a free version and bigger one that you can buy to put on your ipod if you think you like it. Basic but helps with vocabulary - try the free download as you have nothing to lose.

Learn 42 languages with free software downloads