Moving to Bodrum
Hi,

I am new to the forum and have joined because I, my wife and two year old daughter hope to move to Bodrum next spring.

My wife is Turkish, her family are from Izmit, although I personally have not been to Bodrum before. From what i see, Yalikavak looks like a good place to be, although we could end up anywhere on the peninsular.

In the U.K i am a heating engineer, o.k., glorified plumber if you like, but a change of career along with the move would suit me.

I would be grateful if anyone could give any advice on location or work or anything at all for that matter.

Thanks

Colin

tomc1984

Moving to Bodrum
Hi Colin, welcome to the forum, you should find out loads of info. here, it is a mine of information. Hope your move goes well, we have an appartment in Yalikavak and love the place, am sure you would too. Have a good look around for where to live, I know there is a duplex either for sale or rent on our small site in the centre of town, PM me if you want more info. As for work not sure how you would do it, guess you would be OK because your wife is Turkish, does work the other way around, if you have a Turkish husband you are allowed to work, someone will put you right on that score. Sure there will be plenty of work for a tradesman like yourself. Good luck.

Peaceplant

Cat mad and unashamed
Moving to Bodrum
Hi and welcome Colin.

The work issue is a thorny one. Have you got dual nationality? You will find lots of threads about work permits etc if you do a search. Unfortunately jobs for Brits are hard to come by and many decide to set up their own businesses - another subject altogether LOL.

We have lived in Yalikavak and it is our home in our hearts as we are back in the UK indefinitely. Lovely place.

Moving to Bodrum
thanks to both of you, because of my wife and our daughter I can apply for citizenship and passport, so that will make it a lot easier for us i hope.