luddendenturk

The Very Fat Sailor!
can i metal detect in marmaris or is it againt the law
Are you really Tony Robinson? I heard he had bought in Marmaris,

:hearnoevi

Tess

:474cu:Hi Geraldine, welcome to the Forum, hope you enjoy,!!!!

Last edited:
hi there!

i could be wrong but when i studied archaeology i was told that you are not allowed to metal detect with a view to archaeological hunting - it is deemed treasure hunting and all antiquities in turkey belong to the state. if you find anything you have to report it. there is a law like treasure trove in the uk whereby you can get rewarded for handing in artefacts but it's no way to make a fortune. i don't need to say it but don't try to take any historical goodies out of turkey either :eek:)

dksbbs

I'm sure I have seen something somewhere that you need a license prior to starting any search. But I may be wrong.

Dave

Ms Who

aka Kym Ciftci
Hi Geraldine, welcome to the forum.

Unfortunately, its illegal to use a metal detector here unless you have a licence and thats not something that can be obtained easily or by just anyone :-(

immac

Senior Member Has-Been
Interesting that they are currently advertising metal detectors for sale on Turkish TV. I had understood they were banned, but it seems not.
Ian

gell

i know all the rule's in the uk but didnt know about the turkish rules,but thay sell metal detectours in turkey ,so thanks to everyone for getting back to me :3:

gell

ha ha my god you are so funny:48:

KKOB

Completely Chillaxed
Obviously written by someone who learnt English by watching The Two Ronnies.

Too valuable curious folks treasurehunting;
As stated above treasure hunting very enjoyable poetic expression, excitement and adrenaline high is a hobby. Many countries of the world not only in our country treasure hunting, the most advanced European countries where a wide range in the hundreds of millions of people involved and that, a hobby interest, a deal is a field.