immac

Senior Member Has-Been
Ban On Food By Post to Turkey
I have been using a firm in UK to send food items by post for a few years. Expensive (postage) but reliable for items not available in Turkey. My last parcel was refused by Customs in Fethiye and returned to sender. Went to Customs who were very nice about it, but told me that the law has changed and any parcel including food will be refused and returned to UK - you can´t even remove the offending items and have everything else.

Customs officer photocopied relevant paper which I have copied below. Got local translator (Atak) to translate the relevant section and this is included. It lists items that can be brought in hand luggage by travellers.

The company that sends my parcels says they have lots of customers in Turkey and they have not had any other problems.

Am I victim of an over-zealous officer or is he right and all the others are lax?

Translation:
"Here are related explanations regarding your parcel.

Circular numbered 2011/39 refers to decision of Council of Ministers numbered 2009/15481 which was published in Official Gazette 07.10.2009 with the number of 23955. On the first page of the document you have, the sentence underlined explains that items specified in the A) Consumer Goods section in the appendix 9 of the said decision are possible to be brought in together the passenger only.

I checked the said section in the appendix 9, clause a refers to tobacco & tobacco products, clause b refers to alcoholic products, clause c refers to cosmetics products and the translation of the clause ç is as follows;

Clause ç) FOOD PRODUCTS

1-Tea 1 kg

2-Instant Coffee 1 kg

3-Coffee 1 kg

4-Chocolate 1 kg

5-Food made of sugar 1 kg